Call for Posters and Demos

The Demos and Posters session at EKAW 2016 aims to complement the research track by providing an opportunity to present and discuss late-breaking results, on-going projects and innovative prototypes. The informal setting of the D&P session encourages presenters and participants to engage in discussions about the presented work. Such discussions can be invaluable inputs for the future work of the presenters, while offering participants an effective way to broaden their knowledge of the emerging research trends and to start collaborations with other researchers.

We invite submissions relevant to the area of knowledge management, knowledge representation, engineering and acquisition, and knowledge in use; paying special attention to the EKAW focus on knowledge evolution. Technical posters, reports on software systems, descriptions of completed work, and work in progress are all welcome. 

Demonstrations are intended to showcase innovative knowledge management related implementations and technologies. All submissions are intended to convey a scientific 
result or work in progress and should not be advertisements for commercial software packages.

Submission Information

Submissions of maximum 4 pages long are invited, using the Springer Verlag LNCS formatting guidelines. Papers must be submitted as PDFs or HTML pages via EasyChair link. For details on the LNCS style, see Springer's Author Instructions. For details on the HTML format, see the HTML submission guide.

All papers will be reviewed by at least three program committee members. To assess papers,  the reviewers will judge the originality and significance in any of the EKAW research topics. 
The purpose of the session is allow the presentation of innovative ideas, as well as of preliminary results, to the community, provided that originality and significance of the contribution are ensured. 

Please make sure that it is clear how the demo or poster fits with the topics of interest of EKAW 2016. Authors submitting a demo are strongly encouraged to include in the paper a pointer to the online demo or video of the application to be presented. They should also make clear what exactly will be demonstrated to the participants (e.g., what datasets will be used, which functionalities will be showed).

At least one of the authors must be a registered participant at the conference, and present the work at the Demos and Posters Session.

Accepted papers will appear in supplementary post-conference proceedings to be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. 

Important dates

  • Poster and Demo Submission: September 15th, 2016 extended to September 22nd, 2016
  • Notification: October 6th, 2016
  • Camera-Ready: October 20th, 2016

EKAW P&D Chairs

  • Tudor Groza (Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Australia)
  • Mari Carmen Suárez-Figueroa (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)

Program Committee

  • Alessandro Adamou (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University. United Kingdom)
  • Pierre-Antoine Champin (LIRIS Research Center, France)
  • Stefan Dietze (L3S Research Center, Leibniz University Hanover. Germany) 
  • Miriam Fernandez (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University. United Kingdom)
  • Mariano Fernández-López (Universidad CEU San Pablo. Spain)
  • Olga Kovalenko (Vienna University of Technology. Austria)
  • Yuan-Fang Li (Monash University. Australia)
  • Jesualdo Tomás Martínez Breis (Universidad de Murcia. Spain)
  • Nicolas Matentzoglu (University of Manchester. United Kingdom)
  • Pascal Molli (University of Nancy. France)
  • H. Sofia Pinto (Universidade de Lisboa. Portugal)
  • Simon Scerri (University of Bonn & Fraunhofer IAIS. Germany)
  • Hala Skaf-Molli (Nantes University. France)
  • Valentina Tamma (University of Liverpool. United Kingdom)
  • Christopher Thomas (Wright State University, USA)
  • Simon Kocbek (Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Sydney, Australia)
  • Hamed Hassanzadeh (CSIRO, Brisbane, Australia)
  • Socorro Bernardos (Universidad Politecnica de Madrid. Spain)
  • Tania Tudorache (Stanford University, USA)
  • Vadim Ermolayev (Zaporozhye National University, Ukraine)
  • Gregoire Burel, Open University (United Kingdom)
  • Agnieszka Ławrynowicz, Poznan University of Technology (Poland)
  • Jedrzej Potoniec, Poznan University of Technology (Poland)
  • Edna Ruckhaus, Universidad Simon Bolivar, Dept. Computer Science (Venezuela)
  • Enrico Daga, Open University (United Kingdom)


Platinum sponsor

Silver sponsors

Award sponsor